Current Officers & Committee Members

last update: 10 March 2013

SEE YOUR NAME HERE in 2013! Submit your nomination today!


2012 EGLBS President

Peter Gosnell, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Religion and Philosophy
Muskingum University
New Concord, OH

2012 EGLBS Vice-President/President-Elect

Louis Stulman, PhD
Professor of Religious Studies
Chair of the Religious Studies & Philosophy Department
The University of Findlay

Professor Stulman earned the MPhil and PhD in Hebrew Bible from Drew University and has done post-doctoral work at the University of Michigan.  His research interests focus on the prophetic literature as an artistic tapestry of resistance and hope in response to war and captivity.

2012-2015 EGLBS Annual Meeting Coordinator & EGL-SBL Regional Coordinator

Jonathan David Lawrence, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Religious Studies & Theology
Canisius College
Sheila E. McGinn, PhD

2012-2015 CONVERSATIONS General Editor

Sheila E. McGinn, PhD
Prof. of Biblical Studies & Early Christianity
Chair, Deptartment of Theology & Religious Studies
John Carroll University
University Heights, OH 44118


E. Bruce Brooks, PhD
Scott S. Elliott, PhD
Suzanne Richard, PhD
Vernon K. Robbins, PhD

Nominations Committee

  • 2012 Committee Chair, Suzanne Richard, PhD
    Gannon University
    Term of Office: 2012-2015 
  • Eric A. Seibert, PhD
    Messiah College
    Term of Office: 2011-2014
  • Ramone R. Billingsley, MDiv
    Ashland Theological Seminary
    Term of Office: 2010-2013

SBL Regional Scholar Award Nominating Committee

  • Louis Stulman, PhD
    Professor of Religion
    Chair, Department of Religious Studies & Philosophy
    The University of Findlay
    Term of Office: 2010-2013
  • Robert M. Royalty, Jr., PhD
    Associate Professor, Department of Religion
    Wabash College
    Term of Office: 2011-2014
  • Michael Johnson, PhD
    Buffalo State University
    Term of Office: 2012-2015
Angela Roskop Erisman, PhD
Glenn S. Holland, PhD
Pauline Viviano, PhD

Annual Meeting Program Committee Unit Chairs

  • Alpha Christianity (2012-2015)
    E. Bruce Brooks, PhD, Univ.Mass. at Amherst
  • Archaeology of the Ancient Near East & Mediterranean World/ Archaeology & the Bible (2010-2013)
    Suzanne Richard, PhD, Gannon University
  • Hebrew Bible
    John Byron
    , PhD, Ashland Theological Seminary
  • Miscellany (2012-2013)
    Edward Karshner, PhD, Robert Morris University
  • New Testament (2011-2014)
    Scott S. Elliott, PhD, Adrian College
  • Rhetoric of Religious Antiquity (2011-2014)
    Vernon Robbins, PhD, Emory University

Student Advisory Board

  • EGLBS Student Co-Chair & SBL Student Representative
    Michele Stopera Freyhauf, MA
    Univ. of dURHAM (uk) PhD Student (2012-2015)
  • EGLBS Faculty Co-Chair
    Scott S. Elliott, PhD
    Asst. Prof., Philosophy & Religion
    Adrian College (2011-2013)
  • EGLBS Student-Member Representatives


Proceedings of the Eastern Great Lakes Biblical Society
& the Midwest Region Society of Biblical Literature

General Editor, Sheila E. McGinn, PhD
Professor of Biblical Studies & Early Christianity
Chair, Department of Theology & Religious Studies
John Carroll University
Email: Proceedings @

Associate Editors
  • Angela Roskop Erisman, PhD
    Visiting Professor of Theology
    Xavier University
    (HB; 2011-2013)
  • Susan Haddox, PhD
    Associate Professor of Religious Studies
    Director of General Education
    University of Mount Union
    (HB; 2012-2014)
  • Pauline Viviano, PhD
    Associate Professor of Theology
    Loyola University Chicago
    (HB; MWBS)
  • Peter Gosnell, PhD
    Associate Professor of Religion
    Muskingum University
    (NT; 2012-2014)
  • Glenn Holland, PhD
    Bishop James Thoburn Professor of Religious Studies
    Allegheny College
    (NT; 2011-2013)
  • Russell Sisson, PhD
    Professor & Chair, Department of Religion
    Union College, Barbourville, KY
    (NT; MWBS)